Disappointment + fear = what on the journey?

Last week I was energized, moving forward at a decent pace. The first Holliday bazar is booked for mid- October. Three more are waiting on call backs to secure spots. My first meeting with my SCORE counselor, Mr. J (counseling assistance for the business plan) was helpful. He is a knowledgeable, seasoned, and easy to talk to guy. He has directed several hundred, startups, with four successful ventures. Sounds good right?

Here’s the thing…Mr. J told me I was off to a good start. I thought I was running for a touchdown. How disappointing to be told that now the work starts. Well what have I been doing? He started talking forecasting, three year projections, salaries, some kind of margin for tracking money…huh? As he talked, fear rose up. Can we say STARK TERROR! What do I know about this stuff? I fought not to break out in a cold sweat; I would have blamed it on menopause. In that moment I knew we would work together well. He allowed me to pretend to be calm. The entire time I was thinking Who the heck do I think I am anyway? This is already more than my first visions. What makes me think I can do this? Is this delusion at work?  The man was paralyzing me and seemed (by his comfortable steady smile) not to realize it!

Please no platitudes or faith filled scripture quotes. I am in a delicate spot at this moment. I would give them to you, but can’t take them today. Do you have some cheese to go with my whine?

I am leaving you with words of wisdom, (repeatedly learned the hard way). Be careful what you ask for.

My question to you is; when you feel inadequate for the challenge, what makes you take the next step?

 Thanks for reading. Your answer this week is greatly anticipated.

Anxious but determined

lemmell                      

2 thoughts on “Disappointment + fear = what on the journey?

  1. It will be OK I have had that feeling many times both in business and my personal life but we just have to take one step at a time my darling. This is something WE can do. It will all work out and be good in the end. Sometimes it sounds way more confusing then it really is. Just give me call so we can meet up to discuss what the next steps he is looking for. Baby steps my dear still baby steps for now. We will work our way to leaps and bounds. Talk to you soon.

  2. I was at this same point when I was seeking funding to represent the state of Alaska at the 1984 World’s Fair in Louisiana.

    I thought I had all the work done. I went to an investor that said, “good preparation. Now let’s get to work.” I learned soooo much I’m still using the knowledge. Take the information as it comes, ask questions whenever you have one and, always seek input from others (especially those that you think know more than you do).

    Welcome to the best forecasting, pricing and economics class you’ll ever attend!

Leave a Reply

